I-TREC Learning Courses

Track 1 and 2 of the I-TREC Learning Courses must be completed by clerical staff and tracks 1 through 4 must be completed by CPA staff. Certain modules must also be completed by staff when significant changes occur. Staff must receive a score of 80% or higher on the final exam/assessment or quiz to pass the course.

Sixteen required I-TREC Learning Courses:

  • Module 1.1: Introduction to WIC
  • Module 1.2: Excellence in Customer Service
  • Module 1.3: Introduction to STARS
  • Module 1.4: Protecting Civil Rights
  • Module 1.5: Cultural Competency
  • Module 2.1: Managing Client Appointments
  • Module 2.2: Providing PCS
  • Module 2.3: Breastfeeding Basics
  • Module 2.4: Issuing Benefits
  • Module 3.1: Determining Eligibility
  • Module 3.2: Anthropometrics
  • Module 3.3: Measuring Hemoglobin
  • Module 4.1: Conducting Nutrition Assessments
  • Module 4.2: Conducting Risk Assignments
  • Module 4.3: Assigning Food Packages
  • Module 4.4: Providing Referrals
  • Module 4.5: Issuing Breast Pumps
  • Module 4.6: Participant Centered Nutrition Counseling


1. The WIC Manager will request I-TREC access for new staff from the ITCA Nutrition Manager.

2. The staff member will complete each online I-TREC Learning Course according to the instructions in the course.

3. The staff member will complete the final exam/assessment or quiz.

4. The Manager will grade each eWorksheet and complete each competency check.

5. The Manager will submit the completion certification for each Learning Course to ITCA and maintain a copy on file at the local agency.

6. If the staff person does not pass the exam/assessment (score is < 80%), the unit and the exam/assessment must be repeated until it is passed.

7. ITCA recommends that new staff complete at least one Learning Course per week until all courses are completed.