Peace Officer Memorial Day

By Karl G. Auerbach, Chief of Police

The 87th Congress of the United States of America, House Joint Resolution Number 730 (Public Law 87-726) codified on October 1, 1962, and signed by President John F. Kennedy proclaimed May 15 of each year as Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week of each year during which May 15 occurs as Police Week.

National activities are hosted each year in Washington, DC and other cities, to honor those law enforcement officers who made the ultimate sacrifice the previous calendar year.

The National Law Enforcement Officer’s Memorial located in Washington DC, honors all of America’s Federal, State, Tribal and local law enforcement officers killed in the line-of-duty. Inscribed on the Memorial’s marble walls are the names of more than 17,000 officers, dating back to the first known death in 1792.

There are 285 Police Officers who were killed in the line-of-duty in Arizona and their names are inscribed on the Wall of Honor at the National Law Enforcement Officer’s Memorial in Washington DC. There are 112 Native American Police Officers’ names inscribed on the Wall of Honor, 26 are from Arizona:

Please remember these brave men and women whose final act on this earth was to fight a great evil, provide safety and make a difference in their community.

For More Informatiion contact us at: